Dessert Recipe – Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

 

Now that summer has arrived are you looking for easy-to-make desserts to serve at family gatherings? These chocolate ganache raspberry tarts fit the bill. Not only are they easy-to-make, they also look elegant and will likely leave your guests thinking that you slaved away in the kitchen to make them.

Chcolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

Chocolate and raspberry is a classic combination for a reason. They taste great together. The chocolate ganache is rich, smooth and melts in your mouth. Don’t you love the sparkle the sugared raspberries add? This was my first time sugaring raspberries, but I will totally do that again, as I love the look.

Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

When I was researching how to sugar raspberries, every recipe I saw called for using egg white on the berries to get the sugar to stick. As they don’t get cooked, I did not want to do that. I’m not a big fan of using raw eggs in my food. I improvised instead. I mixed a bit of granulated sugar with a bit of water, creating some thick syrup. I lightly coated the berries with the syrup, and then rolled them in sugar. It did the trick, and there are no raw eggs in these tarts.

I opted to take the time to sugar the raspberries, as I wanted them to look special. Plain raspberries could be used instead, to reduce the amount of sugar and/or to save a bit of time. That said, sugaring the raspberries is not difficult. It just requires some time to allow them to dry before placing them on the tarts. When selecting your raspberries, choose the firmest ones, as they will hold up best to the sugaring process.

I took one shortcut with these tarts that saved me a lot of time and effort. I used frozen tart shells. You could make your own pie crust if you wanted. Unless I am baking a large batch of pies, I usually use ready-made ones.

Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

These chocolate ganache raspberry tarts are elegant and taste great. They are also a decadent treat.  They are a good choice for a special occasion. I will make some again next week when our family gets together to celebrate Canada Day. They would be a great addition to a Fourth of July get together too.

 

Recipe: Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

Ingredients

• Granulated sugar
• 12 fresh raspberries, washed and patted dry
• 12 tart shells (I used frozen tart shells)
• 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
• ½ cup milk chocolate chips
• ½ heavy cream (I used table cream, 18%)

Directions

1. Sugar the raspberries. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a small bowl, dissolve a bit of granulated sugar in a small amount of water, to make a thick syrupy mixture. On a dry plate, pour some granulated sugar. Coat each raspberry with the syrup, and then roll raspberry in sugar, to cover all sides. Gently place the raspberry on the parchment paper to dry. Let dry completely, at least one hour.
2. While raspberries are drying, place tart shells on baking sheet to thaw. Prick the dough with a fork in several places on bottom and sides before baking, so crust doesn’t bubble. Bake according to package directions. Let tart shells cool completely before filling, at least 30 minutes.
3. Make the chocolate ganache. In a medium size microwave-safe bowl, place semi-sweet chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips and cream. Heat in microwave on medium-high for 60 seconds. Stir until chocolate chips are melted, smooth and totally blended with the cream.
4. Pour ganache into the tart shells, filling to top edge. Let ganache settle and cool for about 15 minutes.
5. Place one raspberry on top of each tart, in the centre.
6. Serve and enjoy the oohs and ahhs when your family/guests see the tarts.

23 thoughts on “Dessert Recipe – Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts

  1. Pingback: 4th of July desserts

  2. That looks amazing and a perfect treat. I found your recipe over at the Create, Link, Inspire Tuesday link party at Naptime Creations. I host Tickle My Tastebuds Tuesday and would love it if you would come over and share this recipe. I’m sure our party goers would love it! Here is the link http://bit.ly/1mF7z6K. Have a wonderful day!!

  3. Chocolate and raspberries and the best combination! These look gorgeous! The chocolate looks so gooey and soft.

  4. Yummy! I would love it if you joined and contribute your awesome posts at my link party at City of Creative Dreams, starts on Fridays 😀 Hope to see you there at City of Creative Dreams Link Party.

  5. Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links last Friday! I loved this post so much that I chose it to be featured for this weeks party. 🙂 Go grab a button you deserve it!

  6. Pingback: Nepečené čokoládové tortičky s malinami: S týmito sladkými jednohubkami prekvapíte na Silvestra každú jednu návštevu

  7. Pingback: DIY Wedding Feature - Chocolate Ganache Raspberry Tarts - City of Creative Dreams

What do you think?