Grilling Vegetables – Lemon Dill Grilled Green Beans

Now that summer has arrived, have you moved your cooking out to the grill?  We certainly have.  Even though we are grilling several nights a week, we are still eating lots of vegetables, and not only salads.  We grill many vegetables, including these delicious lemon dill green beans.

Lemon Dill Grilled Green Beans

I love cooking on the barbecue because it helps us to keep the house cool on hot summer days, without having to turn on the air conditioning.  I also love the flavour it gives food.

Many of the vegetables that I roast in the cooler months are grilled in the hot summer.  There are a few different ways to do so.  You can use a grill basket and place your vegetables in it.  The basket method hasn’t worked out really well for me, but both of my sisters swear by them.

Another method is to place your vegetables inside a foil papillotte, which is sort of like an envelope, and place it on the grill.  The heat from the trapped steam cooks the contents when using this method.

My favorite method is placing the vegetables directly on the pre-heated grill plate, and turning down the heat of that burner.  This works well for larger vegetables that won’t fall through the grate.  Beans are big enough to use this method.

Lemon Dill Grilled Green Beans

My grate runs front to back, so I place the green beans side to side, going across the grate.  Try to spread out the beans in a single layer, so that they can roast evenly.

Although I love the flavour of grilled beans, I wanted to change these up and add something more.  I had some dill from my CSA box that was crying out to be used.  I created some lemon dill dressing to add to the warm green beans.

I can now tell you that dill and green beans go well together. These beans were a hit.  I made more the next day.

I made the dressing about an hour before dinner, to give it time to sit and for the flavours to meld together.

Grilling the green beans is quick and easy.  If you are grilling meat, the meat will take longer, so put the beans on when the meat is almost done, so they can finish cooking while the meat is resting.

I enjoy grilling vegetables because often the entire meal ends up being prepared on the barbecue.  It makes for a compact cooking space, it’s easy, and best of all, there are fewer dishes to wash.

Do you grill your vegetables? Which ones are your favorite on the grill?

 

Recipe:  Lemon Dill Grilled Green Beans – serves 4

Lemon Dill Grilled Green Beans

Ingredients

Lemon Dill Dressing

  • 2 green onions (scallions) finely chopped, white and light green parts only
  • 2 tablespoons chopped dill
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Beans

  • 1 pound (454 g) green beans, washed, trimmed and dried
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

 

Directions

  1. Prepare dressing: In small bowl, add green onions, dill, lemon juice and vinegar. Whisk together. Slowly pour in olive oil while whisking. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
  2. Pace green beans in a large bowl. Add olive oil, salt and pepper and mix until oil coats beans.
  3. Pre-heat grill to 400 F
  4. Turn one burner down to low heat. Place beans on that portion of grill. Grill beans for 6 to 8 minutes, turning several times to prevent burning. It’s okay if they get some dark spots. As long as the entire bean isn’t charred, it won’t taste burnt.
  5. When beans are done, transfer them to serving dish. Add three tablespoons dressing and toss. Drizzle a bit more dressing on top of the beans and serve.
9 thoughts on “Grilling Vegetables – Lemon Dill Grilled Green Beans

  1. This looks wonderful and easy.Since I don’t own a grill, I’m stuck roasting even in the summer, but I will have to try this recipe (or convince a friend to let me grill beans at their place).
    Thanks!

  2. Yum! That sounds fabulous to me! We love green beans and we do roast them in the oven sometimes. We could try grilling them too. Thanks for linking them up with us at Foodie Fridays! I’m excited to try these!

  3. I have never thought of grilling green beans, but it looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it! Thank you so much for linking up at Tasty Tuesday! Your recipe has been pinned to the Tasty Tuesday Pinterest board! Please join us again this week!

  4. Love that you grilled these! I’ve never tried this before. I bet my family would devour them. Gotta try for sure! Pinned (and thanks for sharing on Saturday Night Fever!)

What do you think?

