Texture

This month, some members of the Starving Artist Team on Etsy (SATeam) have decided to introduce a “blog carnival”.  What is a blog carnival?  It is when several members of the team write a post about the same topic on the same day.  

Our team’s first topic is “How does texture play into your work?” 

I’m a very tactile person.  I tend to “see” with my hands.  I pick up objects to help me decide of what materials they are made.  Anytime I go somewhere new, I touch and pick up pretty much everything.  I process a lot of info with my hands.  I can identify some tree species based on how their leaves feel (really).  Places with “Don’t touch” signs frustrate me.    

So it shouldn’t be a surprise that I like to incorporate texture into the jewelry I make. 

Some of the texture I add to a piece is subtle, like when I use a silk ribbon, a suede ribbon or a leather cord.  The silk ribbon feels so soft and luxurious around the neck.  Suede ribbons are buttery soft.  And leather cord is smooth.  They all feel very different than a chain does around the neck.    

Borosilicate Glass and Sterling Silver Wire Pendant on a Silk Ribbon

Some texture additions are more noticeable.  I use hammers, pliers and other tools to add texture to copper and sterling silver sheet.  My most prized jewelry tools are a beautiful set of Fretz hammers that are often used to create texture.  

Sterling Silver Ring with Hammered Texture

Copper Ripple Earrings - texture created using pliers

Sometimes I create a variety of textures in a single piece.  The ridges in this fold-formed piece are strong and give the piece character.  And the small pieces of silver peeking out from the edges have a much softer, more subtle texture.  The small amber cabochon is smooth and polished, in direct contrast to the strong ridges.  And to emphasize all of these textures, I oxidized the piece, making it a little darker.  

Copper, Sterling Silver and Amber Pendant

I also use wire to create texture.  One way is to wrap beads.  They can be wrapped to fashion a bead cap, or they can be almost caged or they can even be wrapped in wire in a free-form way.  I love how the wire creates soft ridges that contrast with the smooth, polished feel of the stones or glass.  

I wrapped the top of the carnelian bead with sterling silver wire to create a bead cap with texture, and also created a wire coil for the cord. In contrast, I've hammered the clasp to make it smooth.

I've caged the amazonite beads with wire to give them texture. Even the sterling chain has a textured finish.

Pieces of jewelry with texture allow me to use two of my five senses to connect with the piece.  My eyes are busy scanning the piece, taking it all in.  But my sense of touch is engaged too.  My fingers give me even more information than my eyes.  So a piece with texture has appeal that is two-fold and creates a more lasting memory for me. 

Please visit other blogs participating in the blog carnival to find out how texture plays into their work. 

Danagonia

C My Designs

 The FamiLee Jewels

 Bead Sire

 Nicole Hill

 N Valentine

 Stacie Williams

Galadryl Design

3 thoughts on “Texture

  1. I have trouble with do not touch signs myself. So unfair. Your work provides lovely examples of texture, especially the fold formed copper. It’s lovely.

What do you think?