Carrot Spice Muffin Recipe

Carrot Spice Muffins - nut free, egg free recipe

I love carrot muffins, but for some reason had never made any of my own.  I think some of my hesitation may have been due to a reluctance to grate “a whole pile” of carrots, which is what I thought it took to make carrot muffins.  I was wrong about that. It only takes a few carrots.  I regularly grate carrots for salads, so I know grating carrots is really no big deal.

Last month I was out and had a spice cake for dessert.  Well, that was it.  That cake lit a fire under me.  I had to figure out how to make carrot muffins that would create the comforting sensation I had while eating that cake.

It’s taken a number of tries to get these carrot spice muffins just right.  We’ve eaten a lot of carrot muffins around here the past six weeks or so. They were all good.  But I kept adjusting, because they weren’t quite right.

But this recipe?  It’s the one.  It’s just what I wanted my carrot spice muffins to be.  These muffins are light, yet satisfying, moist and full of rich, warm spice flavour.  These muffins are worth the effort I’ve put in to getting the recipe right.

Recipe Carrot Spice Muffins

As you read through the recipe, you will see that it requires both ground and fresh ginger.  No, it’s not a typo.  In the many trials for this recipe, I went back and forth between fresh and ground ginger, and the muffins were always missing something.  That is, until I decided to use both forms of ginger in the same batch.  That was the missing piece of the puzzle.  Using both forms of ginger hits just the note of spice I wanted.

This carrot spice muffin recipe is both egg free and nut free.

 

Recipe: Carrot Spice Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Carrot Spice Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¾ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ¾ teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2/3 cup (165 mL) milk
  • ½ cup (125 mL) pure maple syrup (see recipe notes)
  • ¼ cup (60 mL) canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon (5 mL) vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup (60 mL) plain yogurt
  • Zest of one large orange
  • Juice from one large orange (about ¼ cup, 60 mL)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 cups grated carrots (about 3 or 4 large carrots)

 

Directions:  

  1. Preheat over to 375 F (190 C).  Grease muffin pan or line with paper liners.
  2. In large bowl, mix together whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg and cloves.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, maple syrup, canola oil, vanilla, yogurt, orange zest, orange juice and ginger until well blended.
  4. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and add grated carrots.  Stir just until moistened. Over stirring the batter will make the muffins tough.
  5. Spoon batter into muffin tins.  Bake for 20 to 23 minutes, or until tops of muffins spring back when lightly pressed with finger.
  6. Let cool in muffin tin for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

 

Recipe Notes:

Use pure maple syrup, not maple flavoured table (pancake) syrup.  If you don’t have maple syrup, you can substitute with honey.

2 thoughts on “Carrot Spice Muffin Recipe

What do you think?

