What’s in Bloom – Apple Blossoms

Flowering Crabs (Malus spp.) are my favorite tree.  We had one in the backyard when I was a kid.  Every spring I looked forward to seeing it bloom.  The tree was often overloaded with pink flowers that smelled wonderful. Every time I smell apple blossoms, I am transported back to my childhood.

What's in Bloom - Apple Blossoms

Fortunately, I am able to indulge in my love of these apple trees every spring here in Ottawa.  This is my favorite spot in the entire city in the spring. I go by it twice a day on my commute to and from work.  I eagerly look out the window, drinking in the beautiful sight.

What's in Bloom - Apple Blossoms

There are hundreds of flowering crab trees in this spot.  All of them bloom at the same time.  It is a magical place.  Walking through the rows of trees is like talking a walk in an enchanted forest.  I love being surrounded by all these pink blooms, with their heady perfume.  There is no other place like it.

Pink Apple Blossoms

What's in Bloom - Pink Apple Blossoms

 

What's in Bloom - Apple Blossoms

 

2 thoughts on “What’s in Bloom – Apple Blossoms

What do you think?

