Cranberry Muffins with Crumble Oat Topping

Cranberry Muffins with Crumble Oat Topping

I made cranberry muffins several times this winter, using a few different recipes.  This one is my favorite.  By far.

These cranberry muffins with a crumble oat topping are a variation on my orange blueberry muffin recipe.

Cranberries are often a winter ingredient, but I had some in the freezer that were calling out to be made into muffins.  This recipe was so successful, that on my next grocery trip I will buy more cranberries.  This recipe is a keeper and I will make it year round.  These cranberry muffins are just too good to reserve exclusively for winter.

Cranberry Muffins with Crumble Oat Topping

These muffins are moist and packed with flavour.  The cranberries are a bit tart, which is balanced out by the cinnamon and ginger.  Yes, I added fresh ginger to these.  I really have been on a ginger kick for the past year or so.  The more I use it, the more things I think should have ginger.  The really nice thing in these muffins is that although the ginger definitely gives them flavour, it’s not obvious that it’s ginger.

I gave these cranberry muffins a crumble oat topping.  This gives them an extra bit of sweetness without going over the top.  I would probably add a couple of tablespoons of finely chopped pecans if Greg wasn’t allergic to tree nuts.  The pecans would give them a bit of crunch. However, they are just as good without the topping, if crumble oat topping just isn’t your thing.

My sister arrived at my house five minutes after I took the muffins out of the oven.  She taste-tested them and gave her seal of approval.  So did Greg.

These cranberry muffins with crumble oat topping get three thumbs up.

Recipe:  Cranberry Muffins with Crumble Oat Topping

Cramberry Muffins with Crumble Oat Topping

Ingredients:

Crumble Oat Topping:

  • 3/8 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
  • ¼ cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon softened butter

Muffin Batter:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Zest from one orange
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2/3 cup liquid honey
  • 2/3 cup plain yogurt (I used Balkan style)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup cranberries, frozen or fresh

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Line muffin tin with paper liners.
  3. In a small bowl, combine oats, sugar, cinnamon and butter to make oat crumble. Set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, mix flour, flaxseed, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  5. In a large bowl, whisk together zest, orange juice, ginger, oil, honey, yogurt and egg. Add dry ingredients and stir until just moistened. Add cranberries and stir until evenly distributed in batter. The batter will be very thick. Do not over mix or muffins will be tough.
  6. Scoop batter into muffin tins. Sprinkle with oat crumble topping.
  7. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until muffin top springs back when gently pressed with finger. Let cool for several minutes in pan. Place muffins on wire rack to finish cooling.

 

26 thoughts on “Cranberry Muffins with Crumble Oat Topping

  1. Hi there! I’m stopping in from Let’s Get Real today. Your cranberry muffin recipe caught my attention because I’ve never had a cranberry muffin. I love cranberries, but I never thought to use them in a muffin recipe. I’m excited to try them. I’m on a bit of a ginger kick too!

    • I love cranberry muffins. A recipe using frozen or fresh cranberries like this one gives a very different result than one using dried cranberries. I prefer the fresh or frozen type because I find it gives the muffins bursts of cranberry flavour. I hope you get to enjoy some cranberry muffins soon.

  2. Love that you added fresh ginger to these muffins – love the crumbly oat topping too! Wow!

    • If I could add ginger to everything, I would 😉 Dh (Greg) is pretty fond of the crumble topping too. Satisfies his sweet tooth.

  3. I love cranberry anything – and with the ginger…oh, my! I’m pinning for baking later (hopefully this week). 🙂
    Blessings!

  4. These look great!
    I am also a ginger addict.
    It tastes good and can treat upset stomachs. Once when my husband was sick I made stew in the crock pot: I just browned some ground turkey and onions, then put them, broth, and cut up veggies in the crock pot. And then I had an idea. I grated fresh ginger into it to help with stomach issues.
    It was such a success that now freshly grated ginger in soup is a staple. In fact, my husband likes to put the dried ground ginger when he makes Ramen.
    Anyway, that long story is just to tell you that you’re not alone in your ginger love.
    I am pinning this recipe because I think I need it in my life.
    Also, I’m going to shamelessly share my Orange Chicken recipe that I added ginger to.
    http://somebodysdinner.blogspot.com/2014/05/orange-chicken.html

  5. These look like my kind of muffin, full of yummy things and covered with streusel, yum! These have been featured as the most viewed recipe on Sweet and Savoury Sunday. Stop by, grab a button and link up again with us this week. Have a great day!

  6. Pingback: Sweet and Savoury Sunday Link Party #62 | baking in pyjamas

What do you think?

