Vegetable Recipe: Garlic Rosemary Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Garlic Rosemary Sweet Potatoes

I hated potatoes for a long time. I know, you think hate is pretty strong for innocuous potatoes. I hated them because I grew up eating boiled potatoes for dinner. every.single.day. If you’ve had boiled potatoes, you understand. If you haven’t, don’t do it. Why were we eating boiled potatoes? For reasons I still do not understand, my father loves them. So do several of his siblings. As a result, my sisters and several of my cousins have had a lifelong hate-affair with potatoes.

My hatred of potatoes meant that for the first 10 years or so of my adulthood, I never bought potatoes. Ever. Eventually I discovered that potatoes can be good if prepared differently. Pretty much any way other than boiled.

vegetable recipe roasted sweet potatoesRoasted potatoes are my favorite, and I often prepare them that way. A few years ago, I decided to add sweet potatoes to the mix. I washed and peeled them, cubed them up and added them to my regular potatoes for roasting. It was a hit. I like the sweet potatoes even more than regular potatoes. Sweet potatoes have more nutrients in them too, with lots of beta-carotene, so that’s a bonus. They even count as an orange vegetable according to the Canada Food Guide, which recommends eating at least one orange and one dark green vegetable each day.

If sweet potatoes are new to you, treat them like you would regular potatoes. They can be roasted, mashed or baked. They have more flavour than regular potatoes, and are much sweeter. They do live up to their name. They are sometimes even used to make pie.

vegetable sweet potatoI love garlic and rosemary so I add some to the sweet potatoes when roasting to enhance the wonderful flavour of this vegetable. Sweet potatoes will not become as crispy as regular potatoes when roasted. They will brown and caramelize a little, bringing out even more natural flavour.

If the skin on the sweet potatoes is relatively thin, I don’t peel them. I only peel them when the skin is thick and tough and sort of resembles bark.

 

Recipe: Garlic Rosemary Roasted Sweet Potatoes

veggies side dish

Ingredients

  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 pounds (675 g) sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 ½” cubes (about 3 sweet potatoes)

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 425 F if using regular oven (390 F if using convection oven)
  • Line a large rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Add chopped garlic, rosemary and salt to a large mixing bowl. Add olive oil. Mix well.
  • Add sweet potatoes and stir to coat evenly in olive oil mixture.
  • Spread sweet potatoes on baking sheet, ensuring they are in a single layer. Roast for 25 to 30 minutes, turning the potatoes once half way through cooking time.

 

This recipe is sharing some love at Show Stopper Saturday, Saturday Night Fever, Saturday Show-licious, Sweet and Savory Sundays, Marvelous Mondays, Create and Share and Wake Up Wednesdays.

13 thoughts on “Vegetable Recipe: Garlic Rosemary Roasted Sweet Potatoes

    • Garlic and rosemary is one of my favorite combos, and makes an appearance in many dishes. Thanks for visiting.

  1. Love this…I love to roast potatoes and all kinds of vegetable with olive oil and seasonings. This recipe sounds delicious to me. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This looks delicious. I don’t know why I never think to use anything on my sweet potatoes. I eat them weekly but am always boring and plain. Time to change it up! Thanks!

  3. We have huge rosemary bush in our backyard and I can’t wait to make these sweet potatoes for my family!
    Thank you for sharing your creativity with us at Show-Licious Craft & Recipe Party! We can’t wait to see what you bring to us next week!

    ~ Ashley

    • The last of the snow has just finally melted and I can see my garden. Will have to plant new rosemary this year, as rosemary doesn’t survive the winters here. I can’t wait to get my garden going again, as I have missed my own herbs this winter. AM a little jealous of those living in a climate that have have their own herbs year round.

  4. These look delicious! I found your page through Sweet and Savoury Sunday. My children will love these too, I think they may feature at our table this Easter weekend!

  5. That sounds like a lovely way to eat sweet potatoes, I usually cut them into fries and roast them with Cajun spice. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Happy Easter, have a great weekend!

What do you think?

