The Search for New Vegetable Recipes: Maple Ginger Carrots

veggie recipes ginger maple carrots

Vegetables are a conscious part of my meal planning.  They weren’t always so. Until a few years ago, vegetables were an afterthought.  In fact, they were so much of an afterthought that often, by the time the meal was ready to be served, I would realize I had forgotten to prepare any.  On those days (and they were frequent), it was raw carrots to the rescue.  I would pull a bag of baby carrots out of the fridge and ta-da!  instant veggies.

Times have changed.  Now, when I plan what to make for dinner, I think about what vegetables will be part of the meal, and I prep them early.

In the beginning of the conscious decision to include more veggies in our meals, my vegetable recipe repertoire consisted of raw carrots, steamed broccoli and salad.  This became old pretty quickly.  As a result, I started searching for vegetable recipes, trying to find more exciting ways to prepare them.

Baby Carrots

photo by nanao wagatsuma under cc by 2.0 licence

Raw carrots are my favorite veggie.   I eat some most days, in my lunch, as an evening snack with hummus, or both.  Cooked carrots have never really been high on my list of likes.  But Greg isn’t a big fan of raw carrots.  He prefers his cooked.  And recently I discovered that more beta carotene is released (and available to our bodies) in cooked carrots than in raw ones.  This means cooked carrots are more nutritious than raw ones.  So I had to find a way to make cooked carrots that I would like too.

It turns out that wasn’t a very difficult thing to accomplish.  I turned to two flavours that I really like: ginger and maple.  Soon a new, more interesting vegetable dish appeared at our dinner table: maple ginger carrots.

vegetable recipe carrots

This carrot recipe is a big hit with my family.  The sweetness provided by the maple syrup appeals to Greg, and the spicy taste of ginger adds a refreshing zip that works well for me.

This maple ginger carrot recipe is simple and quick to make.  If you don’t have maple syrup on hand, use honey instead.

Recipe:  Maple Ginger Carrots  (makes 4 servings)

vegetable recipes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sliced carrots
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup (the real stuff, not maple flavoured table syrup)
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ginger, minced

Directions:

  1. In a small sauce pot with lid on, boil or steam carrots 5 to 8 minutes, until tender.  Drain.
  2. Melt butter.  Add minced ginger and sauté for 2 to 3 minutes.  Add maple syrup and stir mixture.
  3. Add carrots to the pot and simmer for 1 to 2 minutes.  Serve.

 

Have you ever been in a vegetable rut?  What vegetable recipe is your family’s favorite?

This recipe is sharing some love at these link parties:  Wake Up WednesdaysWonderfully Creative Wednesdays, Show Stopper Saturdays, Saturday Show-licious, Saturday Night FeverBest of the Weekend Party and Marvelous Mondays.

2 thoughts on “The Search for New Vegetable Recipes: Maple Ginger Carrots

  1. Hi there! I’m stopping in from Let’s Get Real today. You sound exactly like me. I eat so many raw carrots that I think I am turning orange. I have never been a huge fan of cooked carrots, but that is slowly changing for me. I love the flavor of the butter and maple syrup with cooked carrots. Makes them taste more like a sweet potato. I look forward to adding the ginger. That sounds delicious as well.

    • My husband teases me that I will turn orange 😉 Yes, the ginger really changes the flavour of the cooked carrots.

What do you think?

