Salted Caramel Blondies

gooey caramel squares nut-free recipeDo you ever have those days when you have a plan, but things just don’t go according to plan?

I had one of those days last week.  I wanted to try out a new recipe for Salted Caramel Blondies that I had found and that looked delicious.  It appeared as though it would be quick and easy, so I decided to make it right after work, thinking I could make dinner after that. 

Things did not go according to plan. 

I won’t share all the details, but unfortunately, the recipe as it was written did not work.  When I find a new recipe, before deciding to try it, I read it.  I am looking to see if the ingredients are ones that I will like, and if the steps are easy to follow.  I now know that I should also be reading to make sure that the recipe makes sense.  The recipe I was trying to use called for a crumble topping.  The problem is that in addition to butter, flour and sugar, it also said to add an egg.  Well, you can’t add an egg and get a crumble topping.  The egg acts as a binder, so you will get dough, not a crumble topping.  Had I been thinking critically when reading the recipe, I would have caught that as I knew that didn’t make sense.  But I was blindly following the instructions. 

Fortunately, I was able to save the recipe, and my version turned out really well.  All the family loved these salted caramel blondies.  And I ended up creating a second recipe, for another square, which I will share on a different day. But it took a lot longer than I had planned, and I didn’t get dinner made.   

Have you had any kitchen incidents that looked like they might be disastrous but that you were able to save?  Please comment and share your kitchen saves.   

For now, I present you with a recipe for some really luscious, gooey, salted caramel blondies.  The hardest part of making this recipe is unwrapping all the caramels.  On second thought, it is resisting the temptation to eat some caramels while unwrapping them. 😉 

salted caramel blondies recipe

Salted Caramel Blondies

Ingredients

  • ¾ cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 21 caramels (I like to use Kraft caramels), unwrapped
  • 1/3 cup evaporated milk
  • Pinch of sea salt or coarse salt

Directions

  • Heat oven to 350 F. 
  • Line two 9”x 9” baking pans with parchment paper.  You need to use two pans rather than one larger pan as one will be for the bottom layer, and one for the top.  Set pans aside.
  • In a bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and vanilla extract.  Mix well.
  • In a second bowl, mix flour and baking soda.  Add the flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture, and mix until just combined.  Over mixing will make the batter tough.
  • Spread half the batter in the bottom of one prepared pan and half in the other pan. 
  • Bake for 8 minutes. Removed pans from oven, but leave the oven on.
  • Now make the filling.  In a microwave safe bowl, combine the caramels and the evaporated milk.  Heat for 60 to 90 seconds in microwave oven, stirring occasionally, until completely melted and combined. 
  • Pour caramel mixture over one of the partially baked layers.
  • Sprinkle caramel layer with sea salt.    
  • Take the second partially baked layer from its pan.  You can choose to crumble it over top of the caramel layer, or you can just place it whole over top of the caramel layer. 
  • You now have one pan with a partially baked bottom layer, melted caramel and a partially baked top layer. 
  • Return the pan to the oven, and bake for an additional 20 to 22 minutes. 
  • As soon as you removed the blondies from the oven, sprinkle a pinch of salt on top.
  • Let cool completely before cutting into squares.

recipe sqaures

What do you think?

