Christmas Baking – Sweet Marie Bars

One of my favorite desserts on the Christmas cookie platter are Sweet Marie Bars.  I love these things.  They taste awesome and they are really quick and easy to make.

Last week I scoured the internet, trying to find the recipe.  But none of the recipes that I found seemed like my Mom’s.  I wasn’t sure what was missing, I just knew they weren’t right.  Well, Mom came through for me and unearthed her recipe.  And then I discovered what was missing.  Chocolate!  My mom’s recipe has some chocolate in the base, not just in the topping.

So here is my mom’s recipe, which I made this week. 

Sweet Marie Bars

Base:
1/2 cup corn syrup
1 tbsp butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup chocolate chips
3/4 cup peanuts
2 cups Rice Krispies cereal

Pour corn syrup, butter, brown sugar, peanut butter and chocolate chips into a large pot.  Heat, stirring occasionally, until melted.  Cook for an additional 2-3 minutes, stirring often. 
Remove from heat.  Stir in nuts and cereal.
Press into a buttered 8″ square pan.

Topping:
2 tbsp smooth peanut butter
1 cup chocolate chips

Place peanut butter and chocolate chips  in microwave safe bowl.  Heat in microwave for 1 to 2 minutes.  
When melted, mix well and spread over base.

Refrigerate until firm.  Cut into squares or bars.

What do you think?

