Turning 40

 

Today is my 40th birthday.  It’s funny, but it doesn’t feel at all like I thought it would…

Forty always seemed like such a big, intimidating number. 

A couple of years ago, when Greg’s 40th birthday was approaching, I had a small freak-out/meltdown.  If he was going to be 40, I knew I wasn’t far behind and I didn’t feel ready for us to be 40.  I think that I felt that by the time one turned forty one’s whole life was set.  It felt like it would mean we were old…  And I still didn’t quite feel like an adult, so I certainly wasn’t ready to be old.   

Today I feel differently about forty.  I know that just because things are a certain way today doesn’t mean they will be that way tomorrow.  We aren’t locked into where we are now for our whole lives.  There have been many changes of direction in my life so far, and there will likely be more in my future.  When something works for me, I go for it.  When it’s not working for me anymore, I make changes.  I’m not stuck in life now any more than I have ever been.  I still have lots of choices and lots of options.

So forty doesn’t feel bad at all (well, other than my older sisters reminding me that I’m now FORTY, the big 4-0).   

I’m happy.  Life is good.  I see good things all around me.  I like my life.  It’s not perfect, but life isn’t perfect.  In the past few years, I’ve finally learnt to stop trying to achieve perfect.  I’ve learnt when “good enough” really is good enough. 

I like my life and I like who I am.  And that’s a pretty good thing. 

So hello forty.  I’m ready for you.

What do you think?

