Tourmaline – The Love

Tourmaline is probably my favourite stone.  I have a lot of favourite stones, so it’s hard to pick just one as my #1 favourite, but I would say it is tourmaline. 

Pink tourmaline crystal

When I was a university student, one of my roommates worked in a family-owned jewelry store.  She became friends with the son, and one day he brought a tray of loose gemstones to our place for us to admire.  Was he trying to impress her?  Maybe.  Did it work?  Yes!    

There was a variety of gemstones in his tray, including diamonds, rubies, sapphires and emeralds.  And there was also a really interesting crystal.  It was about 1-2” long, and it was yellow at one end, then green and then pink at the other end.  That is what caught my eye.  It was a piece of tourmaline.  While my roommates were drooling over the diamonds, I was captivated by the tourmaline. 

Tourmaline-26460

Pink and green tourmaline crystal

It’s not the fact that tourmaline comes in such a wide variety of colours that fascinates me.  Other stones, like sapphire and garnet, do too.  It is the presence of multiple colours in the same crystal.  That’s just not something one sees every day.  The raw crystals are gorgeous! 

Tri-colour Tourmaline Crystals

Tourmaline-23008

Multi-coloured tourmaline crystal

I hope that one day I will be able to acquire a faceted stone that is multi-coloured.  It would be expensive, but worth it!

Today is all about feeling the love for this gemstone.  In a few days, I’ll share more information about it. 

Tourmaline-34580

Rubellite Tourmaline Crystals

Watermelon Tourmaline - watermelon tourmaline has a pink core with a green rim

Elbaite-122907

Light green tourmaline crystals that grew in a spray

What do you think?

