New (to me) Selling Venue

I started selling my handmade jewelry about 3 years ago.  I started with craft shows and other in person sales.  I love selling in person.  I love seeing people’s reactions to my creations and hearing their comments.  It’s a lot of work, but also a lot of fun. 

I set up my first on-line shop about 2.5 years ago, on icraft.ca.  I love my icraft shop.  It’s a great way to easily reach out to Canadian buyers.  And the site is so pretty.

A little less than 2 years ago, I decided to expand my internet-based selling and set up my Etsy shop.  Etsy is huge, with millions shoppers and millions of items available.  So although there is a lot of traffic there, it’s hard to be seen there. 

Call me crazy, but last Sunday I decided to take the plunge and open up a 3rd online shop!    I opened a shop on Artfire.com.  Several things motivated me to try out Artfire.  One, my copper items aren’t getting much attention in my etsy shop.  My copper pieces sell really well in person, so I’m hoping that the different audience on artfire will be more interested in those items.  Two, artfire is offering a really great deal at the moment.   

It’s a little scary to think that I now have 3 shops to maintain, plus I still do craft fairs (have one coming up on Nov. 13-14th). I still need to find time to make jewelry, which is the really fun part.  Plus I have a full time job.  Plus I still need to cook and clean occasionally or Greg will rebel…  Oh well, at least I don’t have time to be bored.

One thought on “New (to me) Selling Venue

  1. Good for you! This is a good strategy, especially coupled with your local art show effort.

    I am on iCraft too and love it there.

    Dropped Etsy and Artfire – not all venues are for all people, I found and we must personalize our strategy.

    Joined Zibbet.com and love it there too, so it is all about finding your comfort zone, expanding your audience, and finding your niche!

    Off to check out your iCraft shop!

What do you think?

