Ahhh, Amethyst…

My favorite book from childhood (okay, it’s still my favorite book) is Anne of Green Gables, by Lucy Maud Montgomery.  I love Anne, the main character.  She has so much enthusiasm and is so excited by life.  I love this passage, where she talks about amethyst:

“I think amethysts are just sweet. They are what I used to think diamonds were like. Long ago, before I had ever seen a diamond, I read about them and I tried to imagine what they would be like. I thought they would be lovely glimmering purple stones. When I saw a real diamond in a lady’s ring one day I was so disappointed I cried. Of course, it was very lovely but it wasn’t my idea of a diamond. Will you let me hold the brooch for one minute, Marilla? Do you think amethysts can be the souls of good violets?”

I must admit, like Anne, I much prefer amethysts to diamonds.  I think amethyst is so pretty and has so much character.  Everyone born in February is lucky to have this as a birthstone.    

Back in my university days I had the opportunity to go “digging for amethyst” at an amethyst mine near Thunder Bay, ON.  It was so much fun – like going on a treasure hunt.  The amethyst we found was not jewelry grade stones, but it was so pretty.  I still have those pieces on display in my living room.

Here we are at the amethyst mine.  Forgive the look, it was the early 90s. lol.    

Digging for amethyst near Thunder Bay, ON

July 1992, near Thunder Bay, ON

What do you think?

