When Creative Energy Goes AWOL!

It started back in March.  I became involved in a big project at work with virtually impossible deadlines that had to be met… 

I was working like a fiend all day and by the time I got home, I didn’t have the energy to get dinner on the table, let alone make any jewelry.  It was really frustrating because I had great ideas, but no energy to make anything. 

Within a few weeks, I no longer had design ideas, all I wanted to do was sleep!

The project thankfully wrapped up April 22nd.  I was so grateful as I had a craft fair coming up on Mother’s Day weekend and I was not a prepared as I wanted to be.

That’s when life really threw me a curve ball…  We had a family crisis at the end of April that was very stressful and exhausting.  We  began to function in crisis management mode.  I was completely drained.  Everything went by the wayside.  The house wasn’t clean, we weren’t getting laundry done on time, making meals was a challenge and going to work each day was very difficult.  I didn’t have energy for regular life stuff, so I certainly didn’t have the energy to take care of a jewelry business.  Oh the guilt!  I felt that I was letting others down.  Even worse, I felt I was letting myself down!

Eventually, I gave myself permission to neglect my jewelry.  After all, making jewelry started as a hobby.  It was a way to relieve stress.  The jewelry shouldn’t be another source of stress.  I had plenty of that already!  So I let it go…  I didn’t make a single piece of jewelry for almost 6 months.  And I was no longer dreaming up new pieces on my bus ride to work or in those minutes before falling asleep at night.  That was probably the hardest part.  Not even being able to come up with ideas for future pieces.  But it was something I had to accept.  I was too exhausted to do otherwise…

And then, a few weeks ago, I saw a design for a ring in a jewelry magazine.  It was a simple design, but the rings were fun and flirty and free.  And I was inspired!  I wanted to make one of those rings too!  And I had ideas for pendants and earrings that could be made using the same style of bead. 

I searched through my stash to see if I had any beads that would work… Nope, none…  So I found some online and ordered them. 

And I made a ring!

Disc Ring Red 4

Yes, it is a simple ring.  But it’s more than just a ring.  It is a new beginning.  It is inspiration.  It is my creative energy coming back after a long hiatus…

I have new ideas for pieces each day now.  And slowly, I’m finding the energy to make them.  These 2 pieces have been in my head for about a week and a half.  Yesterday I sat down and made them.  And I really like them!  And I feel there is more inspiration to come…

Copper Ripple Bracelet 1

 

Sterling Ripple Pendant 5

What do you think?

