My Sister’s Keeper

This weekend I read Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper.  It was one of those books that once I started it, I just felt compelled to keep reading.

I’ve had the book for over a month, but didn’t start reading right away because I knew it would be very emotional.  The story revolves around 2 sisters.  The oldest, Kate, is dying of leukemia, and the youngest, Anna, has been a donor in the past and no longer wants to be a donor to Kate, even though she knows that means her sister will die…

As you can imagine, the story is emotionally charged.  I was quickly drawn into the character’s lives.  The story is told by mutiple characters, not just in the voice of one or two, so I got to know them quickly.  I felt very sympathetic towards Anna, the youngest, and at first unsympathetic towards the mother.  The more I read, the more complex the situation felt, and I wasn’t sure for which outcome I was hoping.  I can’t even imagine being in that kind of situation, being faced with those types of decisions…

Every step of the way in this story, new things, unexpected things, are revealed.  It feels so real.  The characters are written as very real people, people with flaws, people who are scared, people who love one another.  Those very real, very raw emotions are what compelled me to keep reading. 

The end was unexpected.  It came out of left field.  The hints to the end were there, but I didn’t see them, so I was in shock, I felt genuine grief, I cried from the heart.  That’s how well written I felt this story was.

One thought on “My Sister’s Keeper

What do you think?

