Creations from the weekend

In addition to gardening, I did manage to get a few jewelry projects done this long weekend. They were not complex pieces, but it was good to try out some new techniques.

The blue pendant is a sodalite cabochon.  The surrounding bezel is chain mail using bright aluminium rings, so it’s light-weight.  The idea comes from the recent issue of Art Jewelry Magazine. 

I wire wrapped the other two pieces but I did it differently than I have in the past and I like the results.  The pinkish one is a paua shell cabochon and the brown one is a bead made of petrified wood.  I haven’t yet decided from what I will suspend the pendants.

 

Finally, I made a colourful necklace using wire-wrapped links.  Not a new technique for me, but the beautiful summer colours were just calling out to me.  In real life, the beads are a luscious rapsberry colour as well as turquoise colour.  They are stone beads that have been dyed to get those cheerful hues.

One thought on “Creations from the weekend

  1. Very pretty stones! 🙂 I like that I can click on the picture to get a larger version and take a really good look!
    And welcome to the world of blogging – I read it all and it’s great! What a great way to keep in touch, eh? Great job! Have a great day!

What do you think?

