A starting point…

Well, if I’m going to commit to this, I need to get started.  So today is as good a day as any…

Welcome to the musings of a northern girl.  I have a few reasons for starting this blog: 

  • I want to take more photos.  Once upon a time, I brought my camera with me to most places and took lots of photos.  In the last few years, my photos are few and far between.  I want to get back into that habit, and to have a place for my photos to go.  I hope this will help me.  I think that blogs with images are more interesting than those with only words, so I will use this as a motivator.
  • I want to show at least one new piece of jewelry every week.  By comiting to this, it will help me to actually create pieces regularly, not just design them in my head!
  • Writing down my thoughts helps give me clarity.  So here is a place to write…

 

Planting a garden…

Now this may seem like a common occurence to many people, but Greg and I are not what you would call gardeners.  While I love the idea of having flower gardens, I don’t like the work that goes with it. 

Greg forced my hand by buying a pot of day lilies last week, which he planted in the backyard yesterday.  And today, he mentionned a place having a day lily sale.  So off we went, to this fabulous little hobby farm.  The plants were not in pots, but rather planted in a large garden.   One would wander through the garden, admiring all the beautiful day lilies and then once decided, someone would go and dig up a clump of the selected variety. 

While there, we saw a perfect picture moment, and of course, I did not have my camera.  Inside one of the large yellow flowers was a tiny green treefrog, resting.  The frog wasn’t more than an inch long, and it was a beautiful, bright green.  Perfect!

After much debate about colour, and height, Greg and I finally decided on 3 varieties of day lily. 

This one was my selection.  In real life, it's a gourgeous pinkish purple.

This one was my selection. In real life, it's a gourgeous pinkish purple.

 

This one is Greg's choice.

This one is Greg's choice.

We selected this one to be the transition flower between our two choices.

We selected this one to be the transition flower between our two choices.

With that task done, we brought home our flowers.  But of course, not being gardeners, we didn’t even have a flower bed!  So Greg dug up a narrow strip of grass along the back fence, and now we have a flower bed.  I must admit that handling the plants, digging in the earth, separating the different stems was nice.  It felt good to have dirt on my hands and to plant something and to hope that it will grow and thrive.  Maybe that’s what the appeal is for so many gardeners…
What do you think?

