Recipes: Rhubarb Crisp Two Ways

Rhubarb Crisp Two Ways

Greg’s favorite dessert is strawberry rhubarb pie.  My favorite is apple crisp.  I had a lot of rhubarb on hand, and decided to make a dessert that combined both of our favorites and make some strawberry rhubarb crisp.

My first effort was not good.  not. good. at. all. I tried to adapt my mother’s strawberry rhubarb pie recipe and it was way too sweet.  And soupy.  Even Greg thought it was too sweet, but he did finish it.

For my second effort, I wasn’t sure if I should add strawberries or apples to the rhubarb crisp.  So I made one of each.  Persistence (and lots of rhubarb in the fridge) pays off.  My second effort was just right.  Both the strawberry rhubarb crisp and the apple rhubarb crisp were excellent.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Rhubarb Crisp Two Ways

Strawberries and rhubarb are a classic pairing, and for good reason.  The sweetness of the strawberries takes a bit of a bite out of the rhubarb’s tartness.  The crisp topping provides some crunch, but also gives it a second kind of sweetness, from the brown sugar, that complements the sweetness from the berries.

Apple Rhubarb Crisp

Rhubarb Crisp Two Ways

Apple and rhubarb are not a traditional pairing at all.  I don’t think that I have seen recipes combining them, possibly because rhubarb is in season in the spring, while apples are an early fall fruit.  It turns out that apple and rhubarb do play nice together.

For this crisp, I used twice as much apple as rhubarb, as I didn’t want the tartness of the rhubarb to over-power the more delicate apple flavour.  I also selected a sweet apple (Royal Gala) to balance the rhubarb.  The final trick up my sleeve though was my sweetener.  I mixed in a bit of maple syrup with the fruit.  The result?  Delicious!

Finding Rhubarb

It’s still rhubarb season in my part of the world so there is time to enjoy these delicious seasonal desserts. If you don’t have a rhubarb patch of your own, ask among your neighbours.  Maybe someone has some and would be willing to share.  If not, and if you are not able to find rhubarb at your grocery store, head out to your local farmers market.  That is often the best place to get your hands on some fresh, crisp rhubarb.

 

Recipe: Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Ingredients

Crisp Topping

  • 2/3 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • ¼ cup flour
  • ¾ cup quick cooking oats
  • ¼ cup softened butter

Filling

  • ½ cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 cups chopped rhubarb
  • 2 cups chopped strawberries

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Make crisp topping – In a medium bowl combine brown sugar, flour and oats. Stir in the butter and mix until crumbly. Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, combine ½ cup brown sugar with cornstarch.
  4. In a 1.5 quart (1.4L) oven safe dish (or in an 8” x 8” cake pan) add rhubarb and strawberries. Mix in dry ingredients from step 3 and combine thoroughly.
  5. Spread crisp topping over the fruit, covering evenly.
  6. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until top golden and crisp. Let cool somewhat, but serve warm.

 

Recipe: Apple Rhubarb Crisp

Apple Rhubarb Crisp

Ingredients

Crisp Topping

  • 2/3 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • ¼ cup flour
  • ¾ cup quick cooking oats
  • ¼ cup softened butter

Filling

  • 1 ½ cups chopped rhubarb
  • 3 cups (about 3 apples) peeled and sliced apples (I used Royal Gala)
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 ½ teaspoons cornstarch
  • Pinch cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Make crisp topping – In a medium bowl combine brown sugar, flour and oats. Stir in the butter and mix until crumbly. Set aside.
  3. In a 1.5 quart (1.4L) oven safe dish (or in an 8” x 8” cake pan) add rhubarb and apples. Stir in maple syrup.
  4. Sprinkle cornstarch and stir fruit to distribute evenly. Sprinkle cinnamon on top and mix.
  5. Spread crisp topping over the fruit, covering evenly.
  6. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until top golden and crisp. Let cool somewhat, but serve warm.

 

If you are a fan of rhubarb, you might also like these Ginger Rhubarb Muffins.

What is your favorite way to eat rhubarb?

 

7 thoughts on “Recipes: Rhubarb Crisp Two Ways

  1. Hi there! I’m hopping over from Let’s Get Real. I have been wanting to try a rhubarb crisp. Thanks for the two different options. Now, I need to decide which to try first. They both sound so delicious.

    • They are both great. We had the apple version again tonight. The maple syrup really adds something nice to it.

What do you think?